The Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy Awards

[Note: Separate shopping cart from ebook purchases. Also available to order by mail.]

[Return to store]


by Howard DeVore

Price: $14.00 (Includes free shipping within the US. Please contact us for shipping costs to other destinations or wholesale/bulk orders. International shipping can unfortunately be quite costly; you may do better through local bookstores.)
Format: Paperback



Science fiction fans have voted for the Hugo Awards for best science fiction almost every year since 1953. Members of the Science Fiction Writers of America have presented the Nebula Awards since 1965. In all this time, lists of winners have been widely available, but the losers have usually been ignored.

In 1970 long-time fan Howard DeVore started publishing a complete listing of Hugo and Nebula awards, including the stories that were nominated but did not win. The fact that stories were nominated implied that they had considerable merit. Mr. DeVore felt that a complete listing would let fans compare them. The International Fantasy Awards may have inspired the Hugos, so he added them. DeVore brought out new editions year by year, publishing and distributing them himself with the aid of a number of devoted science fiction fans. By 1998 the task had grown to the point where Mr. DeVore happily relinquished the job to Advent.

This edition includes introductory and historical essays by Donald Franson explaining how each award got started and how nominees and winners are chosen, plus commentary in the yearly listings. Table of Contents

  • The International Fantasy Awards, 1951-1957
  • The Hugo Nominations, essay by Donald Franson
  • The Hugo Awards
  • The Nebula Awards by Howard DeVore
  • The World Fantasy Awards by Roger Silverstein

"Hugo" is a service mark of the World Science Fiction Association, Uninc.


[Note: Separate shopping cart from ebook purchases. Also available to order by mail.]

We hope you enjoy the book! If you like it, please tell others to visit